Midwife Licensing Program

Provider Information

The Midwife Licensing Program supplies providers who are interested in becoming licensed, existing licensed midwives, or new licensed midwives with information about Midwife licensing applications, Scope of Practice reports, and additional midwife forms.

Midwife Licensing

License Application Forms

Training & Licensing

Licensed Midwives - Educated in Midwifery

  • Licensed to practice in Arizona by the Bureau of Special Licensure, Arizona Department of Health Services, on the basis of a state administered examination.
  • Practices under Rules promulgated by the Arizona Department of Health Services.
  • Practices the independent management of care for healthy, low risk women, and their infants during pregnancy, labor and birth, and in the first few weeks after birth. Generally delivers babies in the home.
  • Consults with a physician and refers for medical care if any unusual or abnormal condition arises before, during or after delivery.
  • There are approximately 74 Arizona licensed midwives. Midwives currently practice in 7 counties in Arizona.
  • There is no state approved program of midwifery training in Arizona at this time.
  • *Requires geographically close Level I Centers to receive phone consultation, write orders and accept transport. Also uses the High Risk Perinatal Program, Arizona Department of Health Services, Section on Consultation, Case Management and Transport. Through the High Risk Perinatal Program, transport may be arranged, for example.

Certified Nurse-Midwife (C.N.M.) Educated as a Registered Nurse (R.N.) and in Midwifery

A Certified Nurse-Midwife is an Advanced Registered Nurse Practitioner who has specialized education in both nursing and midwifery. They earn graduate degrees, complete a midwifery education program accredited by the Accreditation Commission for Midwifery Education (ACME), and pass a national certification exam administered by the American Midwifery Certification Board (AMCB). They are licensed by the State Board of Nursing. CNMs are re-certified every 5 years through the AMCB. Within the United States, CNMs attend births within hospitals (96%), in birth centers (2%), and home settings (1.6%). Currently, there are 206 CNMs registered in Arizona.