Division of Behavioral Health Services

Behavioral Health Glossary


ADHS - Arizona Department of Health Services – The state agency that manages behavioral health care services.
AHCCCS - The Arizona Health Care Cost Containment System (AHCCCS) is Arizona's Medicaid program. If someone is Title XIX (19), he or she is enrolled in AHCCCS/Medicaid. Title XIX, AHCCCS and Medicaid refer to the same program in Arizona.


BHS - Another abbreviation for the Division of Behavioral Health Services.


COE - Court Ordered Evaluation is when a judge orders a person to receive a psychiatric evaluation.
CPSA - Community Partnership of Southern Arizona is a Regional Behavioral Health Authority.


DDD - Division of Developmental Disabilities, a division of the Department of Economic Security that provides services to those with developmental disabilities.
DES - Department of Economic Security, the agency that works with the Arizona Health Care Cost Containment System to determine medical eligibility for Title 19/Medicaid services.
DBHS - Division of Behavioral Health Services – The Division within the Arizona Department of Health Services that manages behavioral health services provided by the state.
DTO - Danger to Others is a clinical diagnosis that someone may cause harm to others.
DTS - Danger to Self is a clinical diagnosis that someone may cause harm to themselves.


FIC - Family Involvement Center is a not-for-profit, family-directed organization that assists and supports families/caregivers with children experiencing emotional, behavioral, or mental health disorders. 
FPL - The Federal Poverty Level is set by the federal government and used as a basis for deciding eligibility for programs across the country. Someone is considered below the federal poverty level if they make less than $10,830 as an individual or $22,050 as a family of four.
FY - A fiscal year is a 12-month period used by states, companies or other organizations to produce an annual budget, but does not necessarily begin in January and end in December. Arizona's fiscal year begins July 1 and ends June 30 of the following year. For example, FY10 begins July 1, 2009, and ends June 30, 2010, and FY11 begins July 1, 2010, and ends June 30, 2011.


General Mental Health is a classification of diagnoses that is not Seriously Mentally Ill; these diagnoses are not so severe that people cannot function without intense services and medication(s).


ISP- Individualized Service Plan is a plan that a person receiving behavioral health services develops with his/her case manager to outline his/her treatment goals and methods to achieve those goals.


KidsCare – KidsCare provides low- or no-cost healthcare to Arizona children. It is part of the federal Children's Health Insurance Program, which is administered by AHCCCS, the same agency that operates Medicaid and Medicare. If someone is Title XXI (21), he or she is enrolled in KidsCare.


MHA - Mental Health of America, a non-profit organization that advocates for those diagnosed
with a mental illness.
MIHS - Maricopa Integrated Health Services is the public health service system for residents of Maricopa County.
MIKID - Mentally Ill Kids in Distress is a service provider that provides support and assistance to families in Arizona with behaviorally challenged children, youth and young adults.


NAMI - National Alliance on Mental Illness is a non-profit advocacy group for those receiving behavioral health services and their families.
NARBHA - Northern Arizona Regional Behavioral Health Authority.
NP- Nurse Practitioner


OBHL - The Office of Behavioral Health Licensure ensures that facilities providing behavioral health services on behalf of the state meet certain guidelines and requirements.


PCP - Primary Care Physician is a doctor that provides general medical care.
PC - Prescribing Clinician is a member of a clinic team that has the authority to prescribe medications.
PIP - Practice Improvement Protocol is a set of guidelines and best practices established by ADHS/DBHS for clinicians to follow to ensure proper behavioral health services are provided.
PM – The Provider Manual describes direct service delivery requirements to behavioral health service providers across the state of Arizona.


RBHA - A Regional Behavioral Health Authority provides behavioral health services through a contract with the state in designated Geographic Service Areas (GSAs); there are six RBHAs in Arizona.
RFP - Request for Proposal is a call for bids on a contract for goods, services, etc.
RN - Registered Nurse
RSA - Rehabilitation Services Administration
RTC- Residential Treatment Center


SAMHSA - The Substance Abuse Mental Health Service Administration
SA - Substance Abuse is the use of illegal substances like illegal drugs and prescription drugs; it also includes using substances in ways other than intended like gasoline, household chemicals, etc.
SMI -Seriously Mentally Ill is a diagnosis that means the illness is disabling and requires intense behavioral health services and medication(s).
SSA - Social Security Act is the federal government act that mandates Title 19 and Title 21 benefits.
SSI - Supplemental Security Income is a Federal income supplement program funded by general tax revenues (not Social Security taxes). It is designed to help aged, blind, and disabled people, who have little or no income. It also provides cash to meet basic needs for food, clothing, and shelter.
SSDI - Social Security Disability Insurance pays benefits to those deemed disabled if they are "insured," meaning that they worked long enough and paid Social Security taxes.
SSN - Social Security Number is the number issued to U.S. citizens for identification purposes.


Title XIX/T19 - Title 19 benefits are provided through the Medicaid federal entitlement program; benefits are delivered in Arizona through the Arizona Health Care Cost Containment System.
Title XXI/T21 - Title 21 benefits are a separate benefits program funded by federal dollars; in Arizona, this program is provided through AHCCS and is known more commonly as KidsCare.


UPC - Urgent Psychiatric Care is a facility that provides behavioral health care to those in crisis for no more than 23 hours, after which they are referred to another inpatient or outpatient service provider.