
Welcome to the  
Child Care  Facility  

New Owner Orientation 

Bureau of Child Care Licensing 



PLEASE READ 
Thank you for your interest in licensing a child care facility. 

The following information is an overview of the required information you 
will need to know and follow under Arizona Administrative Code and 

Arizona Revised Statutes for Child Care Facilities.  Please understand 
that this is an overview and that  

not all of the required information is reviewed in this presentation.  

It is your responsibility to review the licensing Rules & Statutes and to 
understand that this overview is designed to provide the general 

information needed to get your licensing process started. 

Please contact the Bureau of Child Care Licensing if you have any 
questions or need further information. 
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Contact DPS online at AZDPS.gov.  After verifying  the validity of the clearance 
card, you can print the screen shot as documentation of your card check. 

R9-5-203- Fingerprinting   Reminder: 
 Staff must complete, sign, and date

the criminal history affidavit  ARS 36-
883.02 (C) form before their start
date.(Sample form on next slide)

 A copy of the fingerprint clearance
application dated within 7 days of
the start date and a copy of a valid
fingerprint clearance card upon
receipt must be kept in the file.

or 
 If staff has a fingerprint clearance

card upon hire, the licensee shall
verify and document if the card is
valid through the Department of
Public Safety (DPS) within 7 days of
their start date. (see Personnel Form)

 Personnel files will always consist of 3
items for fingerprinting for each staff
member.

1. A criminal history affidavit.

2. Fingerprint clearance application.

3. Fingerprint clearance card

or 
1. A criminal history affidavit.

2. Fingerprint clearance card.

3. Documentation from DPS that
  the fingerprint card is valid. 
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R9-5-203.A 

Criminal History Affidavit 

Note: 

A copy of the 
form must be in 

each staff file 
before they start 

to work with 
enrolled children.  
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R9-5-203 
Central Registry Background Check & Fingerprint 
Clearance Card Requirements 

• If required by A.R.S. § 8-804, before an individual’s starting date of
employment or volunteer service, a licensee shall comply with the 
submission requirements in A.R.S. § 8-804(C) for the individual. 

• A licensee shall not allow an individual to be a staff member if the
individual: 

• Has been denied a fingerprint clearance card under A.R.S. Title 41,
Chapter 12, Article 3.1 and has not received an interim approval. 

• Receives an interim approval but is subsequently denied a good
cause exception.

• Is a parent or guardian of a child adjudicated to be a dependent
child as defined in A.R.S. § 8-201.
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R9-5-203 
Central Registry Background Check & Fingerprint 
Clearance Card Requirements (cont’d.) 

• Has been denied, or has had revoked, a certificate to operate a child
care group home or a license to operate a child care facility for care
of children in this state or another state;

• Has been denied, or has had revoked, a certification to work in a child
care facility or a child care group home in this state or another state;

• If applicable, has stated on the form required in A.R.S. § 8-804(I) that the
individual is currently under investigation for an allegation of abuse or
neglect or has a substantiated allegation of abuse or neglect and has not
subsequently received a central registry exception according to A.R.S. §
41-619.57; or

• If applicable, is disqualified from employment or volunteer service as a
staff member according to A.R.S. § 8-804 and has not subsequently
received a central registry exception according to A.R.S. § 41-619.57.
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R9-5-204 

Child Care Service Classifications 
The Department licenses child care facilities using the 
following service classifications: 

1. Full-day care;
2. Part-day care;
3. Evening and night time care;
4. Infant care;
5. One-year-old child care;
6. Two-year-old child care;
7. Three-year-old, four-year-old and five-year-old child care;
8. School-age child care; and
9. Weekend care.
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 At least 30 days before the date of a change in a facility’s name, a
licensee shall send the Department written notice of the name
change and the Department shall issue an amended license that
incorporates the name change but retains the anniversary date of
the current license.

 At least 30 days before the date of an intended change in a facility’s
service classification, space utilization or licensed capacity, a licensee
shall submit a written request for approval of the intended change
to the Department.

 A licensee shall not implement any change described under
subsection(B) until the Department issues an approval or amended
license.

R9-5-208 

Changes Affecting a License 
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R9-5-208 

Changes Affecting a License 

For an intended change in a facility’s service classification, space 
utilization or licensed capacity,

a form named  “Child Care Center Modification Request” is 
available on the  Bureau of Child Care Licensing webpage 

http://www.azdhs.gov/licensing/childcare-facilities/
index.php#providers-applications 

Select the Provider Info button,  Select Application page 
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 Designates a facility director who acts on behalf of the
licensee and is responsible for the daily on-site operation of a
facility;

 Supervises or assigns a teacher-caregiver to supervise each
staff member who does not meet the qualifications of R9-5-
401(3); (teacher-caregiver)

 Prepares a daily dated attendance record and ensures each
staff member documents on the attendance record the time
of each arrival and departure of the staff member;

R9-5-301 

 General Licensee Responsibilities 
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A licensee shall ensure that the following individuals are allowed 
immediate access to facility premises during hours of operation: 

Note: Definition R9-5-101 (60), “immediate” means without restriction, 
delay, or hesitation. 

A parent of an enrolled child or an individual designated, in writing, 
 by the parent of an enrolled child; or 

A representative of: 
a.The Department,
b.The local health department,
c. Child Protective Services, or
d.The local fire department or State Fire Marshal.

R9-5-301 

General Licensee Responsibilities 
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A licensee shall, with the exception of individuals listed in 
subsection (D)(2), ensure that a staff member supervises 
any individual that is not a staff member who is on facility 
premises where enrolled children are present. 

Note: Definition R9-5-101 (116) (b) states: 

“Supervision” means:  For an individual other than an enrolled child, 
knowledge of and accountability for the actions and whereabouts of 
the individual, including the ability to see and hear the individual 
when the individual is in the presence of an enrolled child and the 
ability to intervene in the individual's actions to prevent harm to 
enrolled children. 

R9-5-301 

General Licensee Responsibilities 
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R9-5-301 F. 

 Tuberculosis Testing 

• Staff submit documentation of a
negative Mantoux skin test or
other tuberculosis screening test
that has been administered
within 12 months before their
starting date.

A staff member needs to submit evidence of freedom 
from tuberculosis on or before their starting date. 

• If a staff member has a positive
Mantoux skin test, a written
statement from a healthcare
provider that states the staff
member is free from infectious
active tuberculosis is required.

• The statement must be signed
and dated by the healthcare
provider within six months
before their starting date.
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A licensee shall ensure a staff member who has current 
training in first aid and CPR, as required by R9-5-403(E), is 
present:  

 At all times during hours of operation on facility premises,

 On field trips, and

 While transporting enrolled children in a facility’s motor
vehicle or a vehicle designated by the licensee to transport
enrolled children.

R9-5-301 

General Licensee Responsibilities 
(cont’d) 
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• At least once a month,
and at different times
of the day, staff must
conduct an
unannounced fire and
emergency evacuation
drill.

• Maintains
documentation of the
drills on site for 12
months.

R9-5-301 

Fire Drills 
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A licensee shall not allow a staff member who lacks proof of immunity 
against a disease listed in R9-6-702.A. to be present in the facility 
between the start and end of an outbreak of the disease at the facility. 

A licensee shall ensure that the Department is notified orally or in 
writing within 24 hours after an enrolled child’s death at the child care 
facility during hours of operation. 

R9-5-301 

General Licensee Responsibilities 
(cont’d) 
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R9-5-302.A 

Statement of  Services Checklist 
A licensee shall prepare a written statement of child care 
services (parent handbook) provided by the licensee that 
includes the following:     

 A description of the facility’s child care services classifications in R9-5-204;

 Hours of operation;

 The facility’s street address, city, state, zip code, mailing address, and telephone
number;

 Child enrollment and disenrollment procedures;

 Charges, fees, and payment requirements for child care services;

 Child admission and release requirements;

 Age-appropriate discipline guidelines and methods;

 Transportation procedures;

 Field trip requirements and procedures;

 Responsibilities and participation of parents in facility activities;
 A general description of activities and programs;
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 R9-5-302.A

   Statement of  Services Checklist (cont’d) 

• A description of the liability insurance required by R9-5-308 that is carried by the
licensee and a statement that documentation of the liability insurance coverage is
available for review on the facility premises;

• Medication administration procedures;

• Accident and emergency procedures;

• A notice stating inspection reports are available on-site;

• A provision stating that the facility is regulated by the Arizona Department of Health
Services including the Department’s local street address, city, state, zip code, and local
telephone number;

• The procedures for notifying a parent at least 48 hours before a pesticide is applied on
facility’s premises; and

• A statement that a parent has access to the areas on facility premises where the parent’s
enrolled child is receiving child care services.

 The Statement of Services must be ready to be reviewed at the initial inspection.

All 18 items must be addressed, (i.e. if your facility will not transport children, the statement 
must state: “Our facility does not transport children”.) 
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A. A licensee shall post in a place that can be conspicuously viewed by 
individuals entering or leaving the facility or activity area: 

1. Facility’s license;

2. Name of the facility director;

3. Name of the individual designated to act in the director's absence;

4. Schedule of child care services and fees and policy for the refund of fees;

5. Menus for each calendar week at the beginning of the week (breakfast,
lunch, dinner, snacks);

6. Notice of presence of any communicable disease or infestation (from
date of discovery through incubation period);

R9-5-303 

Facility‘s Posting of  Notices 
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Notice of availability of facility inspection reports for public viewing at 
the facility premises.  

R9-5-303 

Facility‘s Posting of  Notices (cont’d) 
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A licensee shall post a notification of pesticide application in 
each activity area and in each entrance of the facility, at least 
48 hours before a pesticide is applied on the facility’s 
premises, containing: 

 The date and time of the pesticide application, and

 A statement that written pesticide information is available
from the licensee upon request.

R9-5-303 

Facility‘s Posting of  Notices (cont’d) 
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Other Postings: 

In ALL activity areas: 
• Room capacity

• Activity schedule

• Evacuation Plan with detailed exits

• Written Fire and Emergency Plan in
rooms without a Phone (R9-5-514 (B)
and (E)) *Update annually or when
changes occur*

• Specific dietary instructions inaccessible
to public view

• Dated Lesson plan

Infant room: 
• Written infant feeding instructions

Activity areas with 
diapered children: 

• Diaper changing procedures

Kitchen: 
• Written infant feeding

instructions (inaccessible to public view)

• Specific dietary instructions
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R9-5-304 

Enrollment of  Children 

Before an enrolled child receives child care services, a licensee shall require 
the enrolled child’s parent to complete a Department-provided Emergency, 
Information, and Immunization Record card that is signed by the enrolled child’s 
parent containing: 

• The child’s name, home address, city, state, zip code, home telephone
number, sex, and date of birth;

• The date of the child’s enrollment;

• The name, home address, city, state, zip code, and
contact telephone number of each parent of the child;
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R9-5-304 

Enrollment of  Children (cont’d) 

• The name and contact
telephone number of at least
2 emergency contacts;

• The name and contact
telephone number of the
child’s health care provider;

• The written authorization
for emergency medical care
of the enrolled child when
the parent cannot be
contacted at the time of
emergency;

• The name of the individual to
be contacted in case of
injury or sudden illness of
the child;
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R9-5-304 

Enrollment of  Children (cont’d) 

• The written instructions of a child’s
parent or health care provider for
nutritional and dietary needs of the
child including, if applicable, the
request in R9-5-509.C.9 and

(For example, if a child needs a 
different type of milk other than 
fat-free or 1% low fat and the 
child is over the age of two) 

• A written record completed by the
child’s parent or health care
provider noting the child’s
susceptibility to illness, physical
conditions of which a staff member
should be aware, and any individual
requirements for health
maintenance.

Note: Be sure the form is signed and dated by the enrolled child’s parent or guardian.
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R9-5-305 

Child Immunization Requirements 

A licensee shall not permit an enrolled child to attend a facility 
until the facility receives: 

 Immunizations provided by a Health Care Provider or

 Immunizations from the Department’s Child
Immunization Reporting System (Arizona State
Immunization Information System - ASIIS) or

 An Exemption Affidavit for the enrolled child completed
by the parent or guardian.
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R9-5-305 

Child Immunization Requirements 
(cont’d) 

A licensee shall attach an enrolled child’s written immunization or 
exemption affidavit to the enrolled child’s Emergency, Information 
and Immunization Record card. 

Note: Licensed child care only allows medical or religious 
exemptions. 

Obtain an Exemption form from the 
Arizona Immunization Office. 

http://azdhs.gov/phs/immunization/school-
childcare/requirements.htm 
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R9-5-305 

Child Immunization Requirements 
(cont’d) 

A licensee shall not allow an enrolled child who lacks proof of 
immunity against a  disease listed A.A.C. R9-6-702(A) to attend the 
child care facility between the start and end of an outbreak of the 
disease at the facility. 

If a parent of an enrolled child, excluded from a child care facility 
because of a lack of documented immunity to a disease during an 
outbreak of the disease at the child care facility, submits any of the 
documents in A.A.C. R9-6-704 as proof of the enrolled child’s 
immunity to the disease, a licensee shall allow the enrolled child to 
attend the child care facility during the outbreak of the disease. 
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A licensee shall maintain a written dated attendance form containing an 
enrolled child's name with the time of each admission and release of the 
enrolled child. 

A licensee shall ensure the attendance form is signed with at least 
a first initial of an individual’s first name and the individual’s last  
name by each enrolled child’s parent or designated individual, each 
time the child is admitted or released. 

R9-5-306 

Admission and Release of Children 
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R9-5-306 

Admission and Release of Children 
(cont’d) 

A licensee shall not release the enrolled child to an individual other 
than the child’s parent or individual designated, in writing, by the 
child’s parent except when the child’s parent is unable to collect the 
child and authorizes the licensee by telephone to release the child to 
an individual so designated. 

  The licensee shall verify the telephone authorization using 
a means of verification that has been agreed upon  
between the licensee and the child’s parent at the time of  
enrollment. 

  The licensee shall document the means of verification on 
the child’s Emergency, Information and Immunization   
Record card. 
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R9-5-306 

Admission and Release of Children 
(cont’d) 

Develop, document, and implement policies and procedures to 
ensure that the identity of an individual is known to the staff 
member or is verified with picture identification before releasing an 
enrolled child to the individual. (Sign in/out sheets) 

Shall not permit the self-admission or self-release of an enrolled 
child unless the child is of school-age and the licensee has obtained 
and verified written permission from the child’s parent. 

Develop, document and implement policies and procedures to 
ensure that a staff member maintains daily documentation of the 
presence of an enrolled child in an activity area that includes a 
method to account for any temporary absences of the child from 
the activity area. (Rosters) 

* Forms on the website.
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The licensee or staff member shall report suspected or alleged child abuse 
or neglect to Child Protective Services (CPS) or to a local law enforcement 
agency.  The licensee or staff member shall also send documentation to CPS 
and any local law enforcement agency previously notified within 3 days of 
the initial report and maintain documentation on facility premises for 12 
months after the date of a report. 

The licensee or staff member shall report suspected or alleged child abuse 
by a staff member to the Department and to a local law enforcement 
agency.  A licensee or staff member shall also send documentation to the 
Department and to any law enforcement agency previously notified within 3 
days of the initial report and maintain documentation of a child abuse 
report on facility premises for 12 months after the date of the report. 

R9-5-307 
Suspected or Alleged Child Abuse or Neglect 
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R9-5-308

Insurance Requirements 

A licensee shall secure and maintain the following minimum Insurance 
coverage:  

General facility liability insurance of at least $300,000; 

Motor vehicle insurance coverage required by ARS Title 28, 
Chapter 9, Article 4, for each motor vehicle provided by a 
licensee to transport enrolled children.  

Shall maintain documentation of the insurance coverage required 
in subsection (A) on facility premises. 
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R9-5-309 

Required Inspections 

An applicant shall obtain: 

If there are gas pipes that run from a gas meter to an appliance or 
location on the facility premises,  a gas inspection by a licensed plumber 
(or individual authorized by the local jurisdiction)  verifying there are no 
leaks in the gas pipes is required.  

A fire inspection by a local fire department. 

Reminder: 

- A gas inspection is due every 12 months 

- A fire inspection must be current based on the local Fire 
Department’s jurisdiction. 
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R9-5-401.1-7 

Staff  Qualifications - Director 
 
 

At least 21 years of age and documentation 
of ONE of the following 

Associates 
Degree in 

ECE*/closely 
related field 

And 

6 months 
experience 

Total of 24 credits 
w/ 6 credits in 

ECE* 

And 

18 months 
experience 

High school diploma or 
GED with 

60 hours ECE* trainings & 
an additional 12 hours 

training in program 
administration, planning, 

development or 
management  

And 

24 months experience 

NAC/CDA/CCP/CC 

And     

18 months experience 

High school 
diploma or GED 

With 

6 college credits 
in ECE 

And 

24 months 
experience 

Bachelor Degree 
in ECE*/closely 

related field 

And 

3 months 
experience 
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R9-5-401.2.a.b.c.d. 
Staff  Qualifications - Director’s Designee 

At least 21 years of age and documentation 
of ONE of the following 

 

 

 

 

12 months experience 

High school diploma or GED 

And  

• 3 credit hours in ECE

Or 

• At least 30 training hours in
early childhood, child 

development, or closely related 
field 

12 months experience 

And 

• NAC/CDA/CCP/CC

Or 

• At least 24 credit hours including at
least 6 credit hours in early 

childhood, child development, or 
closely-related field     

6 months experience 

 And   

• An associate degree from an
accredited college or 

university in early childhood, 
child development, or 
closely related field  

3 months experience 

 And  

• A bachelor degree from an
accredited college or 

university in early childhood, 
child development or 
closely-related field 
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R9-5-401.3.a.b.c. 
Staff  Qualifications - Teacher-Caregiver 

At least 18 years of age and documentation 
of ONE of the following 

 

 

 
 

6 months experience 

And  

• A High school diploma or  GED

Or 

• At least 12 credit hours in early
childhood, child development, or

closely related field 

An associate or bachelor 
degree from an accredited 

college or university in early 
childhood, child development, 

or a closely related field.  

N.A.C., C.D.A., or C.C.P. 
credential 
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R9-5-401.4.a.b.c.d.e. 
Staff  Qualifications - Asst. Teacher Care-giver 

At least 16 years of age and provides documentation 
of ONE of the following: 

Service as a 
volunteer in a 

child care 
facility for 12 

months. 

Enrollment in 
vocational 

rehabilitation, as 
defined in A.R.S. 

23-501.  Employment as a teacher-
caregiver  aide for 12 months 

 High school 
or a high 
school 

equivalency 
diploma 

Current and 
continuous 

enrollment in 
high school or a 

high school 
equivalency 

class 
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   R9-5-401.5. 
   Staff  Qualifications: Teacher–caregiver aide 

R9-5-401.6  
Staff  Qualifications: Student aide 
Provides the licensee with documentation of participation in: 

At least 16 years of age 
or older 

• An educational, curriculum-based
course in child development, parenting, 

guidance counseling 

OR 

• A vocational education or occupational
developmental program 
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Volunteer…A staff member who, without compensation, 
provides child care services that are the responsibility of a 
licensee.  (R9-5-101.121) 

Ratios…Allow a volunteer qualified as a director, teacher-
caregiver, or an assistant-teacher caregiver to be counted as staff 
in staff-to-children ratios. (R9-5-404.B.2.) 

Supervision…Supervision of each staff member who does not 
meet the qualifications of a teacher caregiver.   
(R9-5-401.3) 

R9-5-401.5. R9-5-401.7 
Staff  Qualifications: Volunteer 

 At least 16 years of age

or older 
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R9-5-402 

Staff  Records and Reports 

 The Department has 
created a personnel 
checklist form to assist 
providers with ALL 
items needed for every 
staff file.  All files must 
include the 13 items.
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R9-5-403. A 1-17 

Training Requirements 

Within 10 days of the starting date of employment or volunteer 
service, a licensee shall provide, and each staff member who 
provides child care services shall complete, training for new staff 
members that include all of the following: 
1. Facility philosophy and goals;
2. Names and ages of and developmental expectations for enrolled children for
whom the staff member will provide child care services; 
3. Health needs, nutritional requirements, any known allergies, and information
about adaptive devices of enrolled children for whom the staff member will 
provide child care services; 
4. Lesson plans;
5. Child guidance and methods of discipline;
6. Hand washing techniques;
7. Diapering techniques and toileting, if assigned to diaper changing duties;
8. Food preparation, service, sanitation, and storage, if assigned to food
preparation; 
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R9-5-403. A 1-17 

Training Requirements (cont’d) 

9. If a staff member is assigned to feeding
infants, the preparation, handling, and 
storage of infant formula and breast milk; 

10. Recognition of signs of illness and
infestation; 

11. Child abuse or neglect detection,
prevention, and reporting; 

12.Accident and emergency procedures;

13. Staff responsibilities as required by
A.R.S. Title 36, Chapter 7.1, Article 1 and  
this Chapter; 

14. Sun safety policies and procedures;

15. Safety in outdoor activity areas;

16. Transportation procedures, if
applicable; and 

17. Field trip procedures, if applicable
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R9-5-403.B 

Training Requirements (cont’d) 

Each staff member who provides child care services completes 18 or 
more actual hours of training every 12 months after the staff 
member’s starting date of employment or volunteer service in at 
least two topics listed below: (a., b., c., or d.) 

a. Child growth and development

b. Health and safety issues

c. Program administration, planning, development, or management

d. Availability of community services and resources, including those
available to children with special needs 
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R9-5-403.B 

Training Requirements (cont’d) 

As a part of the required 18 hours of training : 

a. A staff member who has less than 12 months of child care
experience before the staff member’s starting date must
complete at least 12 hours in child growth and development in
the staff member’s first 12 months at the facility.

b. A staff member who has 12 months or more of child care
experience must complete at least 6 hours in one or more
topics of child growth and development every 12 months
after the staff member’s starting date;
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R9-5-403.B 

Training Requirements (cont’d) 

A staff member who provides child care services to an infant 
completes at least 6 hours in infant growth and development 
every 12 months after the staff member’s starting date; and 

A facility director completes at least 6 hours in program 
administration, planning, development, or management every 12 
months after the facility director’s starting date.   

Note: Keeping a record of all the trainings received will be accepted for 
training hours (actual certificates are not required).  Make sure to 
include the training date, the length of the training, the subject, and the 
name of the trainer. 

ADHS BCCL Center Orientation 46 



R9-5-404  

Staff-to-Children Ratios 

  Infants     1:5 or 2:11 
  1-year-old children   1:6 or 2:13 
  2-year-old children   1:8 
  3-year-old children   1:13 
  4-year-old children   1:15 
  5-year-old children   1:20 
  School Age children    1:20 
 
 Determine and maintain required staff-to-children ratio for 

each group of enrolled children based on the age of the 
youngest child in a group. 
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R9-5-404 

Staff-to-Children Ratios (cont’d) 

When  6 or more enrolled children are present in a facility, a 
facility director or a director’s designee who meets the 
requirements and one additional staff member must be present: 

When 5 or fewer enrolled children are present in a facility the 
facility director or director’s designee who meets the requirements 
must be present, and an additional staff member is available by 
telephone or other equally expeditious means and able to reach the 
facility within 15 minutes after notification; and 

When 6 or more enrolled children are present in a facility, an infant 
is not to be placed for supervision with a child who is not an infant.
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R9-5-404 

Staff-to-Children Ratios (cont’d) 

A staff member assigned to provide child care services does not perform duties 
that may affect the staff member’s ability to provide child care services to the 
enrolled children. 

 In addition to maintaining the required staff-to-children ratios, a licensee      
ensures that staff members are present on facility premises to perform facility 
administration, food preparation, food service and maintenance responsibilities. 

*Assistant teacher-caregivers must be supervised at all times.
 (R9-5-404.B.3) 

*Teacher-caregiver aides, student-aides, and volunteers* must be supervised at all times and
cannot be counted in ratios! (R9-5-404.B.3) 

* A volunteer may be counted in ratios if qualified as a director or a teacher-caregiver or an
assistant teacher caregiver. (R9-5-404.B.2) ADHS BCCL Center Orientation 49



R9-5-501 
General Child Care Program,  
Equipment and Health and Safety Standards 

 A licensee shall ensure the health, safety, or welfare of an enrolled child is 
not placed at risk of harm; 

Drinking water needs to be accessible to children in all activity areas; 

 For school-age children,  drinking water needs to be available in a 
sufficient quantity. 
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R9-5-501  

General Child Care Program, Equipment and 
Health, and Safety Standards (cont’d) 

An enrolled child is placed in an age-
appropriate or developmentally-appropriate 
group; 

Age-appropriate toys, materials and 
equipment are provided to enable each 
enrolled child to participate in an activity 
area; 

Storage space is provided in the facility for 
indoor and outdoor toys, materials and 
equipment in areas accessible to enrolled 
children; 
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R9-5-501 
General Child Care Program,  
Equipment and Health and Safety Standards (cont’d) 

 • Clean clothing is available to an enrolled child when the child needs a
change of clothing

• At least one indoor activity area is equipped with at least one cot or
mat, a sheet and a blanket; where an enrolled child can rest quietly 
away from other children (separate from napping) 

 or  +  + 

• Temperatures are maintained between 68 degrees and 82 degrees in
each room used by enrolled children
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R9-5-501 
General Child Care Program,  
Equipment and Health and Safety Standards

 The following are stored separate from food storage areas and
inaccessible to an enrolled child:

All materials and chemicals labeled as a toxic or flammable substance; 

All substances that have a child warning label and may be a hazard to a child; 
and 

Toilet brushes, plungers, garden tools, cleaning equipment, and supplies, or 
other facility equipment that may be a hazard to a child. 

Supervises enrolled children at all times; 

(Supervision means: a. for an enrolled child, knowledge of and accountability 
for the actions and whereabouts of the enrolled child, including the ability to 
see or hear the enrolled child at all times, to interact with the enrolled child, 
and to provide guidance to the enrolled child.) 
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R9-5-501 
General Child Care Program,  
Equipment and Health and Safety Standards

 A staff member, except for an enrolled child who can change the enrolled 
child’s own clothing, changes an enrolled child’s clothing when wet or 
soiled.

In an indoor activity area that does not have a diaper changing area: 

a. Stores an enrolled child’s wet or soiled clothing in a sealed plastic
bag labeled with the enrolled child’s name; and

b. Send an enrolled child’s wet or soiled clothing home with the
enrolled child when the facility releases the child to the child’s
parent;
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R9-5-501 (cont’d) 

Schedule 

A licensee shall ensure that a staff member prepares and posts in 
each indoor activity area, a current schedule of children’s age-
appropriate activities, including the times, the following are provided: 

 Meals and snacks;

 Naps;

 Indoor activities;

 Outdoor or large muscle development activities;

 Quiet and active activities;

 Teacher-directed activities;

 Self-directed activities;

 Activities for individuals, groups of five or fewer children and groups of six or
more children;

 Activities that develop small muscles;
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R9-5-501 (cont’d) 

Lesson Plans 
 A licensee shall ensure that a staff member prepares and posts 

a dated lesson plan, in each indoor activity area for each 
calendar week, and provides opportunities for each child to: 

 Gain a positive self-concept; 

 Develop and practice social skills; 

 Think, reason, question and experiment; 

 Acquire language skills; 

 Develop physical coordination skills; 

 Participate in structured large muscle physical activity; 

 Develop habits that meet health, safety and nutritional needs; 

 Express creativity; 

 Learn to respect cultural diversity of children and staff; 

 Learn self-help skills; and 

 Develop a sense of responsibility and independence; 
(If the lesson plan includes screen time, include the duration of the screen time in minutes.) 

 Must be able to implement lesson plan. 
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R9-5-501 (cont’d) 

Personal Products 
A licensee does the following when a parent permits or asks a staff 
member to apply personal products on an enrolled child: 

a. Obtains the enrolled child’s personal products from the child’s
parent or if the licensee provides the personal products for use by 
the enrolled child, obtains written approval for use of the products 
from the enrolled child’s parent; 

b. Labels the personal products with the enrolled child’s name; and

Keeps the personal products inaccessible to enrolled children; 

(Personal products may include petroleum jelly, diaper rash ointment, sun screen or sun 
block preparations, toothpaste and baby diapering preparations.) 
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A licensee providing child care services for infants shall: 

• Provide age-appropriate indoor and outdoor activities for each infant;

• Permit an infant to maintain the infant’s pattern of sleeping and waking;

• Develop, document and implement policies and procedures that provide
an opportunity for a non-crawling infant to spend time each day on the
infant’s stomach while the infant is awake (Tummy Time);

• Provide an area with nonabrasive flooring for sitting, crawling, and playing.

R9-5-502 

Standards for Infants 

ADHS BCCL Center Orientation 58 



R9-5-502 

Standards for Infants (cont’d) 

Provide toys, materials and equipment that are too large for an infant to 
swallow and free from sharp edges and points, in a quantity sufficient to 
meet the needs of the infants in attendance that include: 

• Toys to enhance physical development such as toys for stacking,
pulling, and grasping;

• Soft toys;

• Books;

• Toys to enhance visual development such as crib mobiles and
activity mats with an object or objects suspended above the infant’s
head; and

• Unbreakable mirrors;

At least one adult-size chair for use by a: 

• Staff member when holding or feeding an infant; or

• Nursing mother when breastfeeding her infant;
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R9-5-502.A.7.a-b 

  Infants – Toys & Equipment 
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R9-5-502.A.7.a-b 

  Infants – Toys & Equipment 
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R9-5-502 

Standards for Infants (cont’d) 

 Crib Standards: 

Provide a crib for each infant that: 

• Has bars or openings
spaced no more than 2-3/8
inches apart and a crib
mattress measured to fit
not more than ½ inch from
the crib side;

• Has a commercially- 
waterproof mattress; and

• Is furnished with clean,
sanitized, crib-size bedding,
including a fitted sheet and
top sheet/blanket;
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R9-5-502 

Standards for Infants 

• Does not allow bumper pads, pillows, comforters, sheepskins, stuffed
toys, or other soft products in a crib when an infant is in the crib; 

• Cleans and sanitizes each crib and mattress used by an infant when
soiled; 

• Changes each crib sheet and blanket before use by another child, when
soiled, or at least once every 24 hours; 

• Places an infant to sleep on the infant’s back, unless the infant’s parent
submits written instructions from the infant’s health care provider 
stating otherwise; 
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R9-5-502 

Standards for Infants (cont’d) 

Ensure each enrolled child’s pacifier is labeled with an identifier that is 
specific to the child and maintained in a clean condition. 

 A licensee providing child care services for infants shall not: 

 Allow an infant room to be used as a passageway to another area
of the facility;

 Permit an infant who is awake to remain for more than 30
consecutive minutes in a crib, swing, feeding chair, infant seat, or
any equipment that confines movement;

 Permit an infant to use a walker; or

 Allow screen time in an infant room.
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R9-5-502 

Standards for Infants 

A licensee shall ensure that a staff member providing child care 
services in an infant room: 

a. Plays and talks with each infant;

b. Holds and rocks each infant;

c. Responds immediately to each infant’s distress signals;

d. Keeps dated, daily, documentation of each infant including:

i. A description of any activities the infant participated in,

ii. The infant’s food consumption, and

iii. Diaper changes;

f. Provides a copy of the documentation to the infant’s parent upon
request;
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Standards for Infants 

 Keeps dated, daily, 
documentation of each 
infant including: 
◦ i.   A description of any 

activities the infant 
participated in, 

◦ ii.  The infant’s food 
consumption, and 

◦ iii.  Diaper changes; 

ADHS BCCL Center Orientation 66 



Obtain written, current, and dated dietary instructions from a 
parent or health care provider regarding the method of feeding and 
types of foods to be prepared or fed to an infant at the facility; 

Post the current written dietary instructions in the infant room 
and the kitchen and maintain the instructions on facility premises 
for 12 months after the date of the instructions;  

Follow the current written dietary instructions of a parent when 
feeding the infant; 

R9-5-502 (cont’d) 

Infant Feeding Instructions 
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R9-5-502 

Infant Feeding Instructions 
Label each bottle and food 
container received from the 
parent with the infant’s name. 

Ensure that a bottle is not: 

i. Heated in a microwave oven;

ii. Propped for an infant
feeding; or 

iii. Permitted in an infant’s crib
unless the written feeding
instructions state otherwise;

Bottle Warmer 
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R9-5-502 

Infant Feeding Instructions (cont’d) 

Staff holds and feeds: 

• An infant under 6 months of age

• Infant older than 6 months of age who
cannot hold a bottle for feeding

• If an infant is no longer being held for
feeding, seats the infant in a feeding chair
or at a table with a chair that allows the
infant to reach the food while sitting.

NOTE: Use a separate container and spoon for each infant. 
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A nonabsorbent, sanitizable diaper 
changing surface that is: 

a. Seamless and smooth, and

b. Kept clear of items not
required for diaper changing; 

R9-5-503

Standards for Diaper Changing 

A licensee shall ensure that each diaper changing area required in R9-5-
601(4) contains: 
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R9-5-503 (cont’d) 

Standards for Diaper Changing 
A hand-washing sink next to the diaper 
changing surface for staff use when changing 
diapers and for washing an enrolled child 
during or after diapering that provides: 

a. Running water between 86 degrees and
110 degrees,

b. Soap from a dispenser, and

c. Single-use paper hand towels from a
dispenser;

Two waterproof, sanitizable containers 
with a waterproof liner and tight fitting 
lid for soiled diapers and soiled clothing. 
Required containers are kept 
inaccessible (R9-5-503.F.1.)  

 Note: Disposable training pants (pull-ups)
are considered diapers.
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R9-5-503

Standards for Diaper Changing 
A licensee shall ensure a staff member does not: 

1. Permit a bottle, formula, food, eating utensil, or food preparation in a
diaper changing area;

2. Draw water for human consumption from a diaper changing area sink; or

3. If responsible for food preparation, change diapers until food preparation
duties have been completed for the day.

A staff member who provides child services to an infant: 

1. May throughout the time the staff member provides child care services
to  an infant:

a. Change the infant’s diaper, and

b. Prepare the infant’s formula or cereal.
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R9-5-503 (cont’d) 

Standards for Diaper Changing 
A licensee shall ensure that a written diaper changing procedure is posted in each 
diaper changing area.  

Note: Change diaper as soon as it is soiled. 

Wash YOUR hands with antibacterial
soap and water.  WASH AWAY
GERMS before each diaper change!
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R9-5-503 (cont’d) 

Standards for Diaper Changing 
A licensee shall ensure the written diaper changing procedure states that an 
enrolled child’s diaper is changed as soon as it is soiled, and that a staff member, 
when diapering: 

 Uses a separate wash cloth (wipes) and towel only once for each enrolled child;

 Washes and dries the enrolled child using the enrolled child’s individual personal
products labeled with the enrolled child’s name;

 Uses single-use non-porous gloves;

 Washes the staff member’s own hands with soap and running water;

 Washes each enrolled child’s hands with soap and running water;

 Cleans, sanitizes, and dries the diaper changing surface following each diaper
change;

 Uses single-use paper towels from a dispenser to dry the diaper changing
surface or the hands of the enrolled child or staff member.
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R9-5-503 (cont’d) 

Standards for Diaper Changing 
A staff member maintains a diaper changing log. 

 (available on the website) 

Places an enrolled child’s clothing soiled by feces or 

urine in a plastic bag labeled with the enrolled child’s  

name, stores the clothing in a container used for this  

purpose, and sends the clothing home with the enrolled 

child’s parent; and 

Removes disposable diapers and disposable training pants from a diaper changing 
area as needed or at least twice every 24 hours to a waste receptacle outside the 
facility building. 
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R9-5-504 

Standards for 1- and 2-year-olds 
A licensee providing child care services for 1-year-old and 2-year-old children shall: 

1. Ensure that a staff member does not permit a1-year-old or 2-year-old
enrolled child who is awake to spend more than 30 minutes of consecutive
time in a crib, feeding chair, or other place of confinement;

2. Consult with each enrolled child’s parent to develop a plan for individual
toilet training of the enrolled child and ensure that a staff member does not
force toilet training on any enrolled child;

A licensee providing child care services for 1-year-old and 2-year-old children shall: 

 Prohibit screen time in an activity area where child care services are
provided to a 1-year-old child; and

 If finger food is served, the food is of a size and texture that does not
  present a choking hazard; 

 Ensure that if a parent brings a sippy cup for their enrolled child,  the 
sippy cup is labeled with the enrolled child’s name.
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R9-5-504. 
Supplemental Standards for 1 year- old and 2 year-old 

Children 

 

 
 

 
 
 

 

A licensee shall: 
Ensure that a child 

who is awake spends 
no more than 30 

minutes of consecutive 
time in a crib, feeding 
chair, or other place of 

confinement 

Provides: 
*Art supplies     *Books

*Rubber or soft plastic balls

*Puzzles & toys for manipulative
skills 

*Blocks   *Musical instruments

*Washable soft toys & dolls

*Indoor/Outdoor equipment for
large muscle development 

Develop a  
plan with the 

enrolled child’s 
parent for individual 
toilet training of the 

enrolled child  

Prohibit screen 
time in an 

activity area 
where one-year-
olds are present 

  Ensure that each 
activity area has a supply 
of age-appropriate toys, 
materials and equipment 

that are: 

*too large for a child to
swallow 

*free from sharp edges

*sufficient quantity

Ensure that finger food is of 
size and texture that does 

not present a choking hazard 

Serves food to a child seated 
in a feeding chair or at a 

table  

If bottle fed follows R9-5-
502.C.3. 

Parent provided sippy cup for 
child is labeled with child’s 

name  
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R9-5-505.  
Supplemental Standards for 3, 4, and 5 year old 

Children 

 

 

*Art supplies

*Blocks

*Books and posters

*Indoor and outdoor
equipment to 
enhance large 

muscle 
development 

A  licensee shall provide: 

A supply of age-appropriate toys, 
materials, and equipment 

Accessible to enrolled children in 
each activity area  

In a quantity sufficient to meet the 
needs of the enrolled child in 

attendance including… 

*Puzzles and toys
to enhance 

manipulative and
categorization skills 

*Toys

*Dress-up Clothes

*Science materials

*Musical
instruments 
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R9-5-506.  
Supplemental Standards for School-age 

Children 

 

 
 

 

A  licensee shall: 
Ensure that a staff 

member supervises an 
enrolled child to and 
from a bathroom and 
allows the enrolled 

child privacy while in 
the bathroom 

Provide school-
age enrolled 

children with a 
quiet study area. 

Ensure that if an 
enrolled school-age child 
remains in the bathroom 
for more than 3 minutes, 

the supervising staff 
member checks on the 
enrolled child to ensure 

the child’s safety 

Provide age-appropriate toys, 
materials, and equipment 

Accessible to enrolled 
children in each activity area 

In a quantity sufficient to meet 
the needs of the enrolled child 

in attendance including…   

*Arts and crafts

*Games

*Puzzles and
toys to enhance 

manipulative 
skills 

*Books

*Science
materials 

*Sports
equipment 

*Outdoor play
equipment 
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Toys & Equipment – Arts & Crafts 
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Toys & Equipment – Blocks 
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Toys & Equipment – Books 
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Toys & Equipment – Dress-up 
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Toys & Equipment – Sports Equipment 
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Toys & Equipment – Manipulatives & Puzzles 
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Toys & Equipment – Science Materials 
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Toys & Equipment – Musical Instruments 
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Toys & Equipment – Games 
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R9-5-507 

Children With Special Needs 
Before a child with special needs 
receives child care services, obtain 
from the enrolled child’s parent a 
copy of an existing individualized plan 
for the enrolled child that can be 
reviewed, adopted, and implemented 
by the licensee; 

If an enrolled child with special needs 
does not have an existing 
individualized plan, obtain from the 
enrolled child’s parent written 
instructions for providing service to 
the enrolled child until a written 
individualized plan is developed by a 
team consisting of staff members, the 
enrolled child’s parent and health care 
providers that is completed within 30 
days after the enrolled child’s start 
date. 

Note: Please refer to the rule for complete 
requirements for the care of a special 
needs child. 
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R9-5-508 

General Nutrition Standards 
Make breakfast available to an enrolled child 
who is present at a facility before 8:00 a.m. 

Serve lunch to an enrolled child who is present 
at a facility between 11:00 a.m. through 1:00 
p.m., and 

Serve dinner to an enrolled child who is 
present from 5:00  p.m. through 7:00 p.m. and 
who will remain at the facility after 7:00 p.m. 

If an enrolled child’s parent provides food for 
the parent’s enrolled child, the licensee shall 
provide milk or juice to the child if not 
provided by the parent. 
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R9-5-508 

General Nutrition Standards (cont’d) 

For each calendar week, provide a 
variety of foods within each food group 
from the meal pattern requirements. 

If a licensee provides food, shall 
maintain on the facility premises at least 
a one day supply of food needed to 
provide meals and snacks to each 
enrolled child attending the facility. 
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In addition to the required daily servings 
of food, a licensee: 

Shall make second servings of food 
available to each child at meals and snack 
time, 

May substitute a food that is equivalent 
to a specific food component if second 
servings of the specific food are not 
available, and  

Shall ensure that a food substitution is 
written on the posted weekly menu by 
the end of the meal or snack service. 

R9-5-508 

General Nutrition Standards 
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R9-5-508 

General Nutrition Standards (cont’d) 

If a licensee provides food, a 
licensee shall prepare and serve 
food according to  the meal 
pattern requirements found in 
Table 5.1, “Meal Pattern 
Requirements for Children”. 

A licensee shall ensure that 
the meals meet the age-
appropriate nutritional 
requirements  of an 
enrolled child. 
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R9-5-509 

General Food Service 
A licensee that prepares food for enrolled children on facility premises shall, if 
required, obtain a food establishment permit, and: 

1. Provide the Department with a copy of the facility’s food establishment
permit, before the Department issues a license to the facility,

2. Maintains the current food establishment permit on facility’s premises, and

3. Provide a copy of the current food establishment permit to the
Department upon request.

If a licensee contracts with a food establishment to prepare and deliver food 
to the facility, the licensee shall obtain and provide the Department with a 
copy of the food establishment permit, at the following times: 

1. Before the Department issues a license to the facility

2. Upon contracting with the food establishment
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R9-5-509 

General Food Service (cont’d) 

 A licensee shall ensure: 
Enrolled children, except infants and children with special needs who 
cannot wash their own hands, wash their hands with soap and 
running water before and after handling or eating food. 
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General Food Service 
 If a staff member places an

enrolled child in a feeding
chair when feeding an
enrolled child:

 The tray or feeding surface of
the feeding chair is smooth
and  free of cracks ; and

The staff member: 
 Cleans the feeding chair

before and after each enrolled
child’s use;

 Sanitizes the tray or feeding
surface before and after each
enrolled child’s use; and

 If the feeding chair was
manufactured with a safety
strap, fastens the feeding
chair’s safety strap while the
enrolled child is in the  feeding
chair.
(R9-5-501.A.9)
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R9-5-509 (cont’d) 

General Food Service 
Lunch and dinner are family-style meals as demonstrated by at least one 
of the following: 

a. Food is served from a serving container on the table where children are
seated;

b. Children serve themselves, independently or with the help of a staff
member, from a serving container on the table where children are
seated;

c. Children pass a serving container from individual to individual;

d. In a facility where lunch or dinner is provided by the facility, a staff
member sits at the table and eats the lunch or dinner with the children;
or

e. In a facility where each child brings the child’s own lunch or dinner: a
staff member sits at the table with the enrolled children and eats the
staff member’s own lunch or dinner;
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R9-5-509 

General Food Service (cont’d) 
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R9-5-509 

General Food Service 
 Fresh milk is served from the original, commercially filled container, to a

container used for meal service or a cup, and unused portions are not
returned to the original container;

 Milk served to an enrolled child older than 2 years of age is fat-free or 1%
low-fat milk unless the enrolled child’s parent requests otherwise;

 Juice served to children for meal or snack is full-strength 100% vegetable
or 100% fruit juice from an original, commercially filled container or
reconstituted from a concentrate according to manufacturer instructions;

 Fruit juice served to an enrolled child is limited to 4 ounces per day for a
child younger than 6 years of age; or 6 ounces per day for a child 6 years of
age or older;

 The food served to an enrolled child is consistent with a modified diet
prescribed for the child by the child’s parent or health care provider.

Note: Post modified diet in the kitchen and activity area. 
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R9-5-509 

General Food Service (cont’d) 

 A staff member:

Prepares and posts a dated weekly menu at least one week in advance,
specifying the food served daily.

 A refrigerator at the child care facility must maintain a temperature of
41 F or below, and a freezer must maintain at a temperature of 0  F or
below at all times.
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R9-5-510 

Discipline & Guidance 

The licensee shall ensure that a staff member: 

 Defines and maintains consistent and reasonable guidelines
and limitations for an enrolled child’s behavior;

 Teaches, models, and encourages orderly conduct, personal
control, and age-appropriate behavior;

 Explains to an enrolled child why a particular behavior is
not allowed, suggests an alternative, and assists the enrolled
child to become engaged in an alternative activity;
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R9-5-510 

Discipline & Guidance (cont’d) 

Licensee does not use or permit: 

 A method of discipline that could cause harm to the health, safety,
or welfare of an enrolled child;

 Corporal punishment;

 Abusive language;

 Discipline associated with: 

a. Eating, napping, sleeping, or toileting;

b. Medication;

c. Mechanical restraint,

 Discipline administered to any enrolled child by another enrolled
child.
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R9-5-510 

Discipline & Guidance (cont’d) 

A staff member may be allowed to separate an enrolled child from 
other enrolled children for unacceptable age-appropriate  behavior.   

 The separation period shall be for no longer than 3 minutes
after the enrolled child has regained control or composure.

 A staff member shall not allow an enrolled child to be separated
for longer than 10 minutes without the staff member interacting
with the child.
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R9-5-511 

Sleeping and Napping 
A licensee shall provide each enrolled child who naps or sleeps at the facility 
with a separate cot or mat or a crib and ensure that: 

1. A cot, mat or crib used by the enrolled child accommodates the
enrolled child’s height and weight;

2. A staff member covers each cot, crib mattress or mat with a clean
sheet that is laundered when soiled or at least once every 7 days
and before use by a different enrolled child;

3. A clean blanket or sheet is available for each enrolled child;

4. A rug, carpet, blanket, or towel is not used as a mat; and

5. Each cot, mat, or crib is maintained in a clean and repaired condition.

A licensee shall provide an unobstructed passageway at least 18” wide 
between each row of cots or mats to allow a staff member access to each 
enrolled child. 
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R9-5-511 

Sleeping and Napping (cont’d) 

A licensee:
Prohibits the operation of a television set in a room where enrolled 
children are sleeping. 

Requires that a staff member remain awake while supervising the 
enrolled sleeping child. 

A licensee shall ensure that storage space is provided in the facility for cots, 
mats, sheets and blankets, that is: 

1. Accessible to an area used for naptime or sleeping; and

2. Separate from food service and preparation areas, toilet rooms and
laundry rooms.

* Refer to R9-5-511 (D) (1-5) for evening or night time care.
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R9-5-511 

Sleeping and Napping 
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R9-5-512 

Cleaning & Sanitation 
A licensee shall maintain facility premises free from insects and vermin. 

A licensee shall maintain facility premises and furnishings: 
1. In a clean condition, and
2. Free from odor

A licensee shall ensure that floor coverings are: 
1. Clean free from dampness, odors and hazards.

A licensee shall ensure that: 
1. Each toilet room in a facility contains, within easy reach of children:

a. Mounted toilet tissue; and
b. Except as provided in subsection (G):

i. A sink with running water;
ii. Soap contained in a dispenser; and
iii. Disposable, single-use paper towels in a mounted dispenser or a

mechanical air hand dryer; 
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R9-5-512 (cont’d) 

Cleaning & Sanitation 

 An enrolled child’s hands are 
washed with soap and running 
water after toileting 

 

 Food waste shall be stored in 
a covered container  and the 
container is clean and lined 
with a plastic bag (except for a 
cup or receptacle used only 
for water) 

 

 Toys, materials and equipment 
are maintained in a clean 
condition 

 Plumbing fixtures 
 are maintained in a 
 clean and working    
 condition and 

 

    

 

 Chipped and crack 
 sinks and toilets 
 are replaced or 
 repaired. 
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R9-5-513 

Pets & Animals 
A licensee shall maintain written documentation of current immunization 
against rabies for each ferret, dog, or cat owned by the licensee or staff 
member that is present on facility premises. 

A licensee shall ensure that a staff member: 

1. Keeps all pet and animal habitats clean

2. Prohibits reptiles, such as turtles, iguanas, snakes, and lizards, in the
facility 

3. Prohibits birds in food preparation and eating areas
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R9-5-514 

First Aid Supplies 
A licensee shall ensure that there is a first aid kit on facility premises that 
contains first aid supplies in a quantity sufficient to meet the needs of enrolled 
children including the following: 

1. Sterile bandages including:
a. Adhesive bandages of assorted sizes,
b. Sterile gauze pads, and
c. Sterile gauze rolls;

2.Antiseptic solution or sealed antiseptic wipes;

3.A pair of scissors;

4. Adhesive tape;

5. Single-use, non-porous gloves; and

6. Reclosable plastic bags of at least one-gallon size.

A licensee shall ensure the first aid kit is accessible to staff members but 
inaccessible to enrolled children. 
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R9-5-514 (cont’d) 

Accident and Emergency Procedures 

 A licensee shall: 
Prepare and date a written 
fire and emergency plan. 
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R9-5-514 

Accident and Emergency Procedures 

Maintain the plan in subsection (C)(1) in a location on facility premises 
that has an operable telephone service or two-way voice 
communication system that connects the facility with an individual 
who has direct access to an in-and-out operable telephone service;  

A licensee shall post, near an activity area or a room’s designated exit, 
a building evacuation plan that details the designated exits from the 
activity area or room and the facility.
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R9-5-514 (cont’d) 

Accident and Emergency Procedures 
If while attending a facility an enrolled child has an accident, injury, or 
emergency that, based on evaluation by a staff member, requires medical 
treatment by a health care provider, a licensee shall ensure that a staff 
member: 

1. Notifies the enrolled child’s parent immediately after the accident, injury, or
emergency;

A description of the accident, injury, or emergency, 
including the date, time and location of the accident, 
injury, or emergency; 

• The method used to notify the enrolled
child’s parent; and

• The time the enrolled child’s parent was
notified.
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R9-5-514 (cont’d) 

Accident and Emergency Procedures 
If an enrolled child’s parent informs a staff member at the facility that the 
enrolled child’s parent obtained medical treatment from a health care 
provider for an accident, injury, or emergency the enrolled child had while 
attending the facility, a licensee shall ensure that a staff member: 

Documents any information about the enrolled child’s accident, 
injury, or emergency received from the enrolled child’s parent 
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R9-5-515 

Illness and Infestation 
A licensee shall not permit an enrolled child to remain at the facility if a 
staff member determines that the enrolled child shows signs of illness or 
infestation. 

If an enrolled child exhibits signs of illness or infestation at a facility, a 
licensee shall ensure that a staff member: 

1. Immediately separates the enrolled child from other enrolled
children, 

2. Immediately notifies the enrolled child’s parent by telephone to
arrange for the enrolled child’s departure 
from the facility. 

A licensee shall ensure that a staff member who has signs of illness or 
infestation is excluded from a facility.  
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R9-5-515 

Illness and Infestation (cont’d) 

• If a staff member or enrolled child contracts a communicable disease or
infestation, a licensee shall ensure that, within 24 hours of notice of the
communicable disease or infestation, written notice is provided to each
staff member, parent, and the local health department.

• A dated, written notice of the communicable disease or infestation is
prepared and posted in the facility’s entrance as required by R9-5-303.

• Documentation of the absences of staff members and enrolled children
due to a communicable disease or infestation is prepared and maintained
on facility premises for 12 months from the first date of absence.
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A licensee shall ensure that a written statement is prepared and 
maintained on facility premises that specifies: 

1. Whether prescription or nonprescription medications are
administered to enrolled children; and

2. If prescription or nonprescription medications are
administered, the requirements for administering the
prescription or nonprescription medications.

R9-5-516 

Medications 
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R9-5-516 

Medications 
If prescription or nonprescription medications are 
administered, a licensee shall ensure that: 

A facility director or staff member designated in writing by 
the facility director, is responsible for the administration of 
all medications, in the facility, including storing, supervising a 
child’s ingestion of medications and documenting all 
medications administered. 

Note:  A facility director ensures that only one staff member in the facility at any 
given time is responsible for the administration of medications. 
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R9-5-516 

Medications 
A facility director or staff member does not administer 
medication to a child unless the facility receives written 
authorization signed by the child’s parent or health care provider. 
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R9-5-516 

Medications (cont’d) 

A staff member: 

a. Administers prescription medication provided by a parent from a
container dispensed by a pharmacy;

b. Administers a nonprescription medication provided by a parent for an
enrolled child only from a container prepackaged and labeled for
use by the manufacturer and labeled with the child’s name;

c. Does not administer any medication that has been transferred from one
container to another; and

d. Does not administer nonprescription medication to an enrolled child
inconsistent with the instructions on the nonprescription medication’s
label, unless the facility receives written authorization from the child’s
health care provider.
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R9-5-516 

Medications (cont’d) 

 Medication for enrolled children and staff are to be kept in a locked, leak-proof
storage cabinet or container and located out of the reach of children. The
staff’s medication is to be stored in a separate container from the children’s
medication.

 Medications requiring refrigeration are kept in a locked leak-proof container
in a refrigerator.

 A licensee shall maintain documentation of all medication administered to an
enrolled child. Documentation shall contain;

a.The name of the enrolled child;

b.The name and amount of medication administered and the

 prescription number, if any; 

c.The date and time the medication was administered; and

d.The signature of the staff member who administered the medication to the enrolled child.
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R9-5-516 

Medications (cont’d) 

A licensee shall ensure that a facility does not stock a supply of medications 
for administration to enrolled children, including: 

1. Any prescription medication; or

2. A nonprescription medication such as aspirin, acetaminophen, ibuprofen
or cough syrup. (Example: Store bought first aid kits often come with
medications).

A staff member’s or child’s prescription medication necessary to treat life-
threatening symptoms: 

1. May be kept in the activity area where the staff member or child is
present; and

2. Except when the prescription medication is administered to treat life-
 threatening symptoms, is inaccessible to an enrolled child. 
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R9-5-517 

Transportation 
A licensee who transports an enrolled child in a motor vehicle that the 
licensee owns, or acquires for use by contract, shall: 

• Obtain dated, written permission from the enrolled child’s parent
before the licensee transports the enrolled child.
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R9-5-517 

Transportation (cont’d) 

• Ensure the motor vehicle is registered by the Arizona
Department of Transportation as required by ARS Title
28, Chapter 7.

• Use a child passenger restraint system when required
by law.

• Use an adjustable lap belt or an integrated lap and
shoulder belt for each enrolled child who is five years
old or older.

ADHS BCCL Center Orientation 124 



R9-5-517 

Transportation (cont’d) 

Ensure the vehicle has the following: 

• A first aid kit (identical to the facility).

• Two large, clean towels or blankets;

• Sufficient drinking water available to meet the needs of each enrolled
child in the motor vehicle and sufficient cups or other drinking
receptacles so that each enrolled child can drink from a different cup
or receptacle;

• Ensure that the motor vehicle is:

a. Maintained in a clean condition

b. In a mechanically safe condition (including A/C and heating)

c. Free from hazards

d. Maintain service and repair records for the vehicle
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R9-5-517       Transportation 
Ensure that an individual who drives a motor vehicle used to transport 

an enrolled child: 

• Is 18 years of age or older and holds a valid Arizona driver’s license.

• Carries a list stating the name of each child being transported and
copy of each child’s Emergency cards and attached shot record.

• Requires that each door be locked before the motor vehicle is set in
motion and keeps the doors locked while the motor vehicle is in
motion.

• Does not permit an enrolled child to be seated in front of a motor
vehicle’s air bag.

• Sets the emergency brake and removes the ignition keys from the
motor vehicle before exiting the vehicle.

• Does not use audio headphones or a telephone while the vehicle is
in motion.
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R9-5-518 

Field Trips 
 A licensee providing a field 
trip shall obtain written 
permission from a parent 
before the enrolled child 
participates in a field trip 
including: 

The date, description of the field 
trip, the time of departure, and 
return to the facility. The name, 
street address, telephone number, 
if any, of the field trip destination; 
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R9-5-518 

Field Trips (cont’d) 

A licensee shall ensure that a staff member taking enrolled children 
on a field trip carries the following on the field trip: 

• A copy of the Emergency card with an immunization record.

• A copy of the written field trip plan.

• A list stating the name of each participating enrolled child; and

• Sufficient water to meet the needs of each enrolled child
participating in the field trip.
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 A staff member shall verify the 
presence of each child and place a 
check mark next to the child’s 
name on the list for each child who 
is present at the following times: 

 1. At the beginning of the field 
 trip or when boarding the 
 vehicle, 

 2. Upon arrival at the 
 destination and each hour 
 while at the field trip 
 destination, 

 3. When preparing to leave or 
 when boarding the vehicle to 
 return to the facility, and 

 4. When reentering the facility at 
 the conclusion of the field trip. 

Susie James P James 2/1/12 

R9-5-518 

Field Trips (cont’d) 
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R9-5-518    Field Trips (cont’d) 

• A licensee shall ensure that each child participating in a field trip
is wearing in plain view a written identification stating the
facility’s name, address, and telephone number.

• A licensee shall also ensure that each enrolled child is wearing
out of view a written identification stating the child’s name.

• A licensee shall ensure that the staff-to-children ratios required
in R9-5-404(A) are met when transporting school-age and non-
school-age children.  A motor vehicle driver may be counted in
the staff-to-children ratio, if the motor vehicle driver meets the
qualifications of a teacher-caregiver.

• When transporting non-school-age children, a driver can be
counted in the staff-to-children ratio when four or fewer
children are being transported and teacher caregiver
qualifications are met.
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R9-5-601 

General Physical Plant Standards 
 When providing child care services for infants or children who require 

diapering, a diaper changing area that meets the requirements in R9-5-503 is 
available in each infant room or indoor activity area used by an enrolled 
infant or child who wears diapers or disposable training pants (pull-ups). 

 

 

  

 

 A glass mirror, or other glass surface that is located within 36 inches of the 
floor is made of safety glass that has been manufactured, fabricated, or 
treated to prevent the glass from shattering or flying when struck or broken, 
or is shielded by a barrier to prevent impact by or physical injury to an 
enrolled child. 
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R9-5-603

Outdoor Activity Areas 
Except as provided in subsection (D), a licensee shall  ensure that an 
outdoor activity area: 

1. Is enclosed by a fence:

a. A minimum of 4 feet high;

b. Secured to the ground; and

c. With either vertical or horizontal open spaces on the fence or gate
that do not exceed 4.0 inches;

2. Is maintained free from hazards, such as exposed concrete footings
and broken toys;

3. Has gates that are kept closed while an enrolled child is in the
outdoor activity area.
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Outdoor Activity Areas - Fencing 
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R9-5-603  
Outdoor Activity Areas (cont’d) 

 A licensee shall ensure that a playground used only for enrolled 
school age children at a facility operating at a public school 
meets the fencing requirements of the public school. If the 
Department determines by inspection that a facility fence at a 
public school does not ensure the health, safety, or welfare of 
enrolled children, the licensee shall meet the fencing 
requirement of subsection (C). 
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R9-5-603

Outdoor Activity Areas (cont’d) 

A licensee shall ensure the following is provided and maintained 
within the fall zones of swings and climbing equipment in an 
outdoor activity area: 

1. A shock-absorbing unitary surfacing material manufactured
for such use in outdoor activity areas; or

2. A minimum depth of 6 inches of a nonhazardous, resilient
material such as loose sand or wood chips.

Definition #47 –  Fall zone means the surface under and around a piece of 
equipment onto which a child falling from or exiting from the equipment 
would be expected to land. 
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Outdoor Activity Areas - Surface 
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R9-5-603  
Outdoor Activity Areas (cont’d) 

 Ensure that hard surfacing material such as asphalt or concrete 
is not installed or used under swings or climbing equipment 
unless used as a base for a rubber surfacing. 

 A licensee shall ensure that a swing or climbing equipment is not 
located in the fall zone of another swing or climbing equipment. 

 A licensee shall provide a shaded area for each enrolled child 
occupying an outdoor activity area at any time of day. 
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Outdoor Activity Areas - Shade 
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Outdoor Activity Areas - Structures 
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Outdoor Activity Areas - Water 
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R-9-5-604

Swimming Pools 
 Programs with swimming pools need to refer to

the rule above.

Note: Portable pools are prohibited. 
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R-9-5-605

Fire and Safety 

A licensee shall ensure that: 

 All designated exits, corridors, passageways that provide escape from
the building are unobstructed and unlocked during hours of
operation;

 An unvented or open-flame space heater or portable heater is not
used on the facility premises;

 Electrical extension cords are not used;

 Except for a room used only for an enrolled school-age child, each
unused electrical outlet is covered with a safety plug cover or insert;

 Heating and cooling equipment is inaccessible to an enrolled child.

ADHS BCCL Center Orientation 142 



R-9-5-605

Fire and Safety (cont’d) 

 Fans are mounted and inaccessible to an enrolled child;

 Toilet rooms are ventilated to the outside of the building, either by a
screened window open to the outside air or by an exhaust fan and
duct system that is operated when the toilet room is in use;

 A smoke detector is installed in each indoor activity area and kitchen;

 The fire extinguisher required in subsection (A):

a. Is serviced at least once every 12 months; and

b. Has a tag attached to the fire extinguisher that specifies the date
of the last servicing and the identification of the person who
serviced the fire extinguisher.
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Website 
Arizona Department of Health Services   
http://www.azdhs.gov/licensing/childcare-facilities/index.php 
Licensing & Certification 
Bureau of Child Care Licensing 
 Rules & Regulations

 Parent & Consumer Information

 Provider Information (including application packets)

 Empower Pack Information

 List of Forms

www.azcarecheck.com 
 Review deficiencies online, and the date deficiencies were corrected are included

 Review enforcement actions

**As a licensee, you are responsible for all the rules and regulations; this 
training does not cover every rule.** 
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If you are the applicant 
for the licensure of a 
child care facility, please 
contact your assigned Licensing 
Surveyor for a link to the 
Orientation Review Exam. 

You will be required to provide 
documentation that you 
passed the test in order to 
complete the administrative 
portion of the application 
process. 

Congratulations! 
You have completed the Online Center New Owner 

Orientation course. 
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FOR QUESTIONS OR 
CONCERNS, PLEASE 
CALL: 
Your Assigned Licensing Surveyor 

OR 
The Licensing Surveyor of the State on duty 
Monday – Friday from 8:00 A.M. to 5:00 P.M. at 
602-364-2539 
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