Smoke-free cars for
WITH KIDS healthy Arkansas kids.

UNDER 14

Arkansas Protection From Secondhand Smoke
for Children Act (ACT 811 of 2011)
FACT CARD

There is no safe level of exposure to secondhand smoke; even brief exposure can
be harmful to children.

* Act 811 prohibits smoking in all vehicles when a child under 14 years
of age is present.

* Smoking in a vechicle with children under 14 is a primary offense;
a vehicle can be pulled over, and the driver may receive a ticket for
violating the law.

* Anyfirstoffenders may have their fine removed by proving currentenrollment
info a program to quit using tobacco (tobacco cessation program).

* To quit tobacco call 1-800-QUIT-NOW, or 1-800-784-8669, for a

free program including medication, while supplies last.
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For more information, visit stampoutsmoking.com or healthy.arkansas.gov.




Automoviles libres de
humo para la salud de
los ninos de Arkansas.

Ley de Arkansas Para la Proteccién de los Nifios a
la Exposicién del Humo de Segunda Mano.
TARJETA INFORMATIVA

No existe un nivel sano de exposicién al humo de segunda mano. Incluso breves
exposiciones pueden ser dafiinas.
* La Ley de Arkansas prohibe fumar en cualquier vehiculo cuando un
nifio menor de 14 afios estd presente.

* Fumar en un vehiculo con un nifio menor de 14 afios es una ofensa
primaria; un vehiculo puede ser detenido, y el conductor multado por

violar esta ley.

¢ Cualquier persona que viole esta ley por primera vez puede pedir que
se le cancele la multa al comprobar que se ha inscrito en un programa
para dejar de usar tabaco (programa de cesacién del tabaco).

* Si quiere dejar de usar tabaco, llame al 1-800-784-8669 para un
programa gratuito que incluye medicamentos, mientras duren las existencias.

"""""""""" Arkansas Department of Health

Para mds informacién, llame al (501) 280-4141

o visite stampoutsmoking.com o healthy.arkansas.gov.



Young lungs are delicate and smoke can hinder their development. That's why
it's now illegal to smoke in a vehicle with a child under 14 present. Drivers can
be pulled over and ticketed if seen smoking with a child. For more information on

Act 811 or help quitting, visit stampoutsmoking.com or call 1-800-QUIT-NOW.

Let's keep Arkansas cars smoke-free for healthy kids.
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Young lungs are delicate and smoke can hinder their development. That's why it’s now illegal to smoke in a vehicle
with a child under 14 present. Drivers can be pulled over and ticketed if seen smoking with a child. For more information
on Act 811 or help quitting, visit stampoutsmoking.com or call 1-800-QUIT-NOW.
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Act 811 of 2011




Arkansas was the first state in the nation
to implement a law protecting children
from secondhand smoke in vehicles.




Others soon followed Arkansas' example:

e California ¢ Louisiana * Maine °
Rockland County in New York * Keyport, New Jersey
South Africa ¢ Puerto Rico * Most provinces in Canada




Their laws were similar but often stronger:

e Protection for children
under 12to 18

e Penalties of up to $2,000
per violation




Arkansas' law originally passed in
2006 as Act 13.

. Don’t lock your child in a gas chamber.
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~ 1-800-QUIT-NOW

Smoking in a car with a child under 6 years and 60 pounds is against the law.




Act 13 of 2006 only protected
children under 6 and weighing
less than 60 pounds.




The law was amended
in 2011 to now include

CH"_DREN children under 14.
ATPLAY

A




Violators are fined $25.




First-time offenders can avoid a
fine by proving enroliment in a
program to quit smoking.
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There is no safe level of exposure
to secondhand smoke.




Cigarette smoke contains more than
7,000 chemicals and compounds.

Hundreds are toxic.
At least 69 cause cancer.




Children exposed to secondhand
smoke are at increased risk for:

*Sudden Infant Death Syndrome
e Lower respiratory infections

* Other respiratory symptoms

* Middle ear disease

* More severe asthma

*Slowed lung growth




Children are especially vulnerable to
health effects of secondhand smoke
because of developmg resplratory,.




IN ARKANSAS
470 PEOPLE

DIE EACH YEAR
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Almost 60 percent of U.S.
children (ages 3-11) are exposed
to secondhand smoke.
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Secondhand smoke in cars can
exceed that in homes and bars by

10-100 times.




Smoke can stay trapped in cars,
even with open windows.
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In a car, one burning cigarette can
equal hazard levels in the vincinity of

forest fires.
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Arkansas students who rode in a car
with someone smoking one or more
cigarettes in the past seven days:

* Middle school - 55.8% (in 2000)
down to 36.6% (in 2010)

* High school - 64.4% (in 2000)
down to 48.2% (in 2010) |
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13% OF ARKANSAS

adults would support a stronger law,
protecting all children under 18 from

secondhand smoke in a car.




What can you do?

*Don’'t smoke in the car

*Don't let kids ride in smoke-filled cars
* Educate others about the danger

* Educate others about the law

*Call 1-800-QUIT-NOW




For more information,visit

stampoutsmoking.com or healthy.arkansas.gov
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~ for sm in a vehicle wh
younger than the age of 18 are present.

To quit smoking contact the California Smokers' Helpline at
1-800-NO-BUTTS, 1-800-45-NO-FUME or www.NoButts.org
for a free personaized quitting plan




