Arizona Loan Repayment Program
Governor Doug Ducey signed Senate Bill 1194 on February 24, 2015 which enhances the Arizona State Loan Repayment Program by expanding the types of providers who can receive loan repayment assistance, increasing the award amounts for the initial and succeeding commitment years, and removing the 4-year service cap. This bill will become effective 91 days after the legislative session ends.
Through this new legislation, mental health providers, pharmacists and geriatrics will be added to the list of eligible providers joining the currently eligible primary care physicians, dentists, and advanced practice providers like nurse practitioners, physician assistants, and nurse midwives. The new law makes up to $65,000 available (for a 2-year commitment) for physicians and dentists (a $25,000 increase from $40,000 previously). Advanced practice providers can qualify for up to $50,000 (up from $15,000). The incentives even get better as providers stay longer in the program. For each year of continued service in the underserved area after the first two years, physicians and dentists can receive up to $35,000 from $25,000 and for advanced practice providers, up to $25,000 from $10,500. Please check our website for any future announcements about the implementation of the new legislation that includes the application cycle opening for the added disciplines. Any questions or comments about the legislation or if you need general program information, please email Ana Roscetti.
Given that the effective date of SB1194 is currently unknown, eligible providers are encouraged to submit their application to the National Health Service Corps Loan Repayment Program (NHSC LRP). The NHSC LRP is accepting applications until March 30, 2015 at 7:30 p.m. ET.
The Arizona Loan Repayment Programs (ALRP) are administered by the Arizona Department of Health Services (ADHS), Bureau of Health Systems Development (BHSD) also known as the Primary Care Office for the State of Arizona.
ALRP has two components: the Primary Care Provider Loan Repayment Program (PCPLRP) and the Rural Private Primary Care Provider Loan Repayment Program (RPPCPLRP). These programs aim to promote the recruitment and retention of health care professionals by repaying their qualifying educational loans in exchange for their two-year commitment to provide primary care services in federally designated Health Professional Shortage Areas (HPSA) or Arizona Medically Underserved Areas (AzMUA).
NOTE: Loan repayment is in addition to a compensation package provided by the service site and is considered tax-exempt.
Click on the questions below to find what you are looking for:
- Am I eligible?
- Is my current prospective employment service site eligible?
- What is the difference between PCPLRP and RPPCPLRP?
- How can I apply?
- How much loan repayment am I eligible for if I qualify?
- What criteria are used for prioritizing loan repayment awards?
- What is the process for awarding loan repayment?
- When and how do I find out if I am selected?
- What are the contract requirements if I am selected?
- How does the loan repayment work?
- What are qualifying loans for repayment?
- What if I have multiple lenders?
- My lender/loan information changed. What shall I do?
- What if I cannot complete the service obligation?
- Are there any penalties for not completing the service obligation?
- How does contract suspension work?
- What if I want to transfer to a different service site?
- How can I reapply?
- Where can I find the list of qualified areas?
- What is a sliding fee schedule?
- I need help with ProcureAZ?