An Excessive Heat Warning is in effect from 6/25/2015 9:00 AM to 6/27/2015 9:00 PM PDT for Mohave County. Learn more about how to stay safe in extreme heat and stay informed about future heat alerts.

Office of Vital Records

Apply for a Birth Certificate After Adoption

See Who Can Obtain a Birth Certificate.

See Apply for a Birth Certificate.

Adoption Checklist for Adoptive Parents

Arizona Revised Statute (A.R.S. 36 § 336) states that all courts in the State of Arizona shall submit the Certificates of Adoptions, court orders of adoption and court orders for modification of an adoption to the State Office of Vital Records by the 10th day of the month immediately preceding the month in which the adoption was finalized. The Office of Vital Records must provide the courts the opportunity to send the finalized adoption orders to our office. However, if the Office of Vital Records does not receive the Certificate of Adoption from the court within 30 days, the adoptive parents may contact the Corrections Unit at 602-364-2428 to verify that the adoption has not been processed before mailing in the following documents to the State Office of Vital Records.

  1. The Arizona Vital Records Request for Copy of Birth Certificate application must be completed and signed by the adoptive parent.
  2. A photo copy of the parent’s government-issued picture identification (front and back) or the parent must sign the application in the presence of a notary.
  3. The Adoption worksheet completed by one of the adoptive parents. Please make sure the adoptive parent prints their name, signs the form, enters the date in which the form was signed and their phone number.
  4. The certified final decree of adoption from the superior court.
  5. The $30.00 fee to amend the certificate and to receive one certified copy of the amended birth certificate. If additional copies are requested, they may be purchased at $20.00 each. Acceptable methods of payment are: money order, Visa or Master Card, or the attorney’s company business check.

Factors that may contribute to a lengthier processing timeframe are: issues with the court order that may need to be rectified before processing can occur and a large volume of requests or adoptions to process. Requests are processed in the date order in which they are received.

Send the request to:

State Office of Vital Records
Attn: Adoptions
P.O. Box 3887
Phoenix, AZ 85030

The following is a check list for your convenience. Please ensure the following items are included with the request:

  • Application of Certified Copy of Birth Certificate
  • Adoption worksheet
  • Final adoption decree certified by the court (raised seal)
  • Photo copy of your ID (front and back) or application must be signed in the presence of a notary
  • $30.00 payable by money order, Visa or Master Card, or the attorney’s company business check
  • Pre-paid postage envelope to send documents and certificate back to requestor

The parent will only need to submit the following documents if the adoption has been processed:

  • Application along with a photo copy of the parent’s valid, government-issued identification (front and black) or the application may be signed in the presence of a notary
  • $30.00 dollars payable by money order, Visa or MasterCard
  • Additional copies of the certificate may be purchased for $20.00 each.

Adoption Checklist for Attorneys

Arizona Revised Statute (A.R.S. 36 § 336) states that all courts in the State of Arizona shall submit the Certificates of Adoptions, court orders of adoption and court orders for modification of an adoption to the State Office of Vital Records by the 10th day of the month immediately preceding the month in which the adoption was finalized. The Office of Vital Records must give the court the opportunity to send the finalized adoption orders to our office. If the Office of Vital Records does not receive the Certificate of Adoption from the court within 30 days, the attorney that represented the adoptive parents may mail in the following documents to the State Office of Vital Records.

  1. A letter of request on the attorney’s letterhead containing the following: professional relationship to the adoptive parent, the attorney’s signature and state bar number.
  2. The Adoption worksheet filled out by one of the adoptive parents. Please make sure the adoptive parent prints their name, signs the form, enters the date in which the form was signed and their phone number.
  3. The certified final decree of adoption from the superior court.
  4. The attorney must provide documentation stating the attorney has been retained by the adoptive parents (retainment letter). The retainment letter is not required if the final decree of adoption lists the representing attorney’s name.
  5. The $30.00 fee to amend the certificate and receive one certified copy of the amended birth certificate. If additional copies are requested, they may be purchased at $20.00 each. Acceptable methods of payment are: money order, Visa or Master Card, or the attorney’s company business check.
  6. A postage prepaid envelope to send documents and certificate back to requestor.

Factors that may contribute to a lengthier processing timeframe are: issues with the court order that may need to be rectified before processing can occur and a large volume of requests to process. Requests are processed in the date order in which they are received.

Send the request to:

State Office of Vital Records
Attn: Adoptions
P.O. Box 3887
Phoenix, AZ 85030

The following is a check list for your convenience. Please ensure the following items are included with the request:

  • Request from the Attorney on Attorney letterhead
  • Adoption worksheet
  • Final adoption decree certified by the court
  • Retainment letter or final decree showing the attorney on record.
  • $30.00 dollars payable by money order, Visa or MasterCard, or the attorney’s business check. Additional copies may be purchased for $20.00 each.
  • Pre-paid postage envelope to send documents and certificate back to requestor