ADHS will be performing maintenance on the Medical Marijuana systems starting on Saturday, January 24, 2015 at 10 PM expected to be completed by Sunday, January 25, 2015 at 4 AM. During this time, Medical Marijuana Online Registry Applications will be unavailable. We apologize for the inconvenience this maintenance downtime may cause. If the process is completed earlier, the systems will be made available at an earlier time.

Office of Vital Records

Who Can Obtain a Stillbirth or Fetal Death Certificate

  • On January 1, 2015 the Arizona Department of Health Services Office of Vital Records Lobby at 1818 W. Adams Phoenix, AZ 85007 will be closing the public lobbyPDF. Mail-in services will still be available.
  • El 1 de enero de 2015 la recepción de la Oficina del Registro Civil del Departamento de Servicios de Salud de Arizona, ubicada en el 1818 W. Adams, Phoenix , AZ 85007, estará cerrada al público.PDF. Los servicios por correo seguirán estando disponibles.

Who may obtain a copy of certificate of a birth resulting in stillbirth?

Only persons 18 years of age or older may obtain a certified copy of a birth certificate. In addition, to protect the confidentiality rights of our citizens, Arizona law specifies that only the parents listed on the record or another person authorized by one of the parents may obtain a certified copy of a certificate of birth resulting in stillbirth.

If you are not one of the parents listed on the record, you must provide written authorization from one or both of the parents in order to receive a certified copy of the certificate of birth resulting in stillbirth, and a valid government issued picture I.D. in order to obtain a certified copy.

Who may obtain a certified copy of a fetal death certificate?

Only persons 18 years of age or older may obtain a certified copy of a fetal death certificate. In addition, to protect the confidentiality rights of our citizens, A.A.C. R9-19-406 specifies that only the parents of a fetus or another person authorized by one of the parents may obtain a certified copy of a fetal death certificate.

If you are not one of the parents of the fetus, you must provide written authorization from one or both of the parents in order to receive a certified copy of the fetal death certificate, and a valid government issued picture I.D. in order to obtain a certified copy.

A certified copy of a fetal death certificate may be issued only to the parents of a fetus or to another person upon authorization from a parent if all of the following criteria are met:

  • The applicant is named as parent on the certificate.
  • The applicant submits a signed application.
  • The applicant provides valid government issued identification or notarized signature on the application.
  • The applicant submits the appropriate fee(s).